PDA

View Full Version : If you have a laptop/netbook with Linux on it, do you suspend or shut down?

aysiu
May 26th, 2009, 05:25 PM
I've been using Ubuntu for four years now, and I've seen the state of suspend-to-RAM get a lot better over the years.

Now I have an HP Mini, and I'm happy to say suspend-to-RAM works perfectly on the Mie it comes with (a customized Ubuntu 8.04 interface) and works almost perfectly (wireless is a little slow to connect afterwards) with standard Ubuntu 9.04.

So I pretty much suspend to RAM all the time. Occasionally, I'll shut down.

What do you all do?

gn2
May 26th, 2009, 05:29 PM
Usually suspend to RAM which works perfectly in 8.04 on my Asus F9E.

Shut down at night if I won't be using it the next day.

rax_m
May 26th, 2009, 05:30 PM
Shutdown..

Sadly, upon resume from sleep sound doesn't work. And upon resume from hibernate my fans don't work properly!
My next laptop will definitely be more Linux compatible.

RaZe42
May 26th, 2009, 05:30 PM
I usually just shut down my laptop when I don't use it. Since it boots so fast it's no big deal.(I've also put GDM to autologin, so I can just leave the laptop to boot by itself while I do something else.)

Now if I only could speed up my BIOS :)

MaxIBoy
May 26th, 2009, 05:32 PM
Usually, I suspend to RAM. Overnight, or when the battery is very low, I just shut it down, as cold boots are much faster than suspend-to-disk (especially after my boot time optimizations.)

FuturePilot
May 26th, 2009, 05:32 PM
I usually hibernate my laptop at night, and suspend it during the day when I'm not using it. With this particular laptop I've never really had a problem with hibernate or suspend.

yoasif
May 26th, 2009, 05:35 PM
i have to hibernate, because suspend does not work.

run1206
May 26th, 2009, 05:39 PM
i suspend to RAM

hessiess
May 26th, 2009, 05:39 PM
Usuily suspend to ram, occationaly locks up while suspending requireing a force power off.

Simian Man
May 26th, 2009, 05:43 PM