PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Fresh blood

NZMatt
May 26th, 2009, 10:33 AM
Hey everyone

I'm completely new to Ubuntu and have so far been very impressed. I only installed it yesterday but it seems very user friendly.

My issue at the moment is that I'm unable to connect using wireless.

file:///tmp/moz-screenshot-2.jpgIf I go to System / Preferences / Network Connections, and then click on Wireless, nothing appear in my connections Window - it doesn't seem to be detecting the router.

http://i40.tinypic.com/28s4y9l.png

I'm on an nc4400 laptop with an Intel

Can anyone help?

Thanks very much.

Matt

bruno9779
May 26th, 2009, 10:38 AM
have a look here:

http://www.linlap.com/wiki/hewlett-packard+nc4400

it is a compatibility checklist for your box with linux.

"Use the ipw3945 module" is what is said under "wifi"

post back if you need help setting ipw3945 up

reg4c
May 26th, 2009, 10:42 AM
In the Network Connections dialog you will only see the setup connections, such as ones with a WEP where you have succesfully connected

To actually connect to a network you should click on the network icon in the status area on your panel. It will either be an icon like the one on the phone showing you the signal with a little red X in the corner or two computers. There will be a list of all the networks that the wireless card has detected.

Try that, and if you cannot find it, or there are no networks then post back...

NZMatt
May 26th, 2009, 10:51 AM
Thanks for the info guys.

I'm really very new to this. I did actually already find the stuff on the Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG adapter, but got a bit lost trying to find it.

As for the network icon in the status area - I don't have one. Here's a screen shot of my whole screen to show you what I do have:

http://i40.tinypic.com/2liy8uu.png

Again, thanks for help - it is truly appreciated.

3rdalbum
May 26th, 2009, 11:11 AM