PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Having some difficulties with freshly installed ubuntu

Endless Dementia
May 25th, 2009, 09:00 PM
Ok, Well I just installed Ubuntu on my vista computer by using wubi. When I started up ubuntu, I updated from add/remove and I tried to do some things which didn't seem to work.
Here is the list of problems I have run into
-I can't change my resolution higher than 1280 x 720 even though my computer supports 1680 x 1050. Is says my monitor is unkown
-When I got to appearance preferences and try to change it to extra, it says it could not enable it
-When I went on youtube it prompted me to download adobe flash player so I did. When the firefox load thing is done I get "Error: wrong architecture 'i386'
-I can not acces my windows vista files.

Any help is GREATLY apreciated. Im new to Ubuntu and I have no idea how to use it but I want to learn how.

EDIT:I updated hardware drivers and now when I change display I get thsi
"You do not appear to be using the NVIDIA X driver. Please edit your X configuration file (just run `nvidia-xconfig` as root), and restart the X server."

what does that mean and what do i do

PLEASE I NEED HELP

coffeecat
May 25th, 2009, 10:40 PM
-When I went on youtube it prompted me to download adobe flash player so I did. When the firefox load thing is done I get "Error: wrong architecture 'i386'