PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Compiz: change desktop using mouse wheel over the viewport switcher

infinito
May 25th, 2009, 08:50 PM
Hello,

I've never used Compiz before Jaunty, so I have a question. Using Metacity I can switch from one desktop to another scrolling the mouse wheel over the viewport switcher, but in Compiz I can only get that behaviour if I scroll the mousewheel over the desktop.

Is there any way to get the old behaviour on Compiz?

Thanks in advance!

cmost
May 25th, 2009, 11:40 PM
I actually prefer the Compiz way myself. I think you might too, if you get used to it. ;) Have you tried playing around with the settings in the 'Viewport Switcher' applet available in CCSM (Compiz Settings Manager?) It's possible you can emulate the old behavior somewhat by customizing the settings.

infinito
May 26th, 2009, 07:01 AM
Well, minimizing windows to change desktops is not an option for me. I like the old behaviour, because i think it's easier and faster...

nanderv
May 26th, 2009, 01:13 PM
Can't you just use CTRL-ALT-arrow key. That seems to be much faster to me. Or you could just click on the viewport you want to go to.

xMarine73
May 26th, 2009, 06:09 PM
Can't you just use CTRL-ALT-arrow key. That seems to be much faster to me. Or you could just click on the viewport you want to go to.

I actually set mine up to use CTRL-ALT-Mouse4/Mouse5 (down/up on the mouse wheel). This changes desktops no matter what I'm doing without having to minimize anything.

infinito
May 27th, 2009, 07:03 AM
Well, I know there are other options, but I do like the old behaviour... Any way, the Ctrl+Alt+Wheel option doesn't work if you're over Firefox, so....

pgn674
July 7th, 2009, 10:53 PM