PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help! 8.10 freeze at login.

Mr_Cus
May 21st, 2009, 12:44 PM
Hi all,
This is my first post here but been reading for a while. I'm a bit of a newbie and dont know many terminal commands etc

Basically, my problem is that i've upgraded from 8.04 to 8.10 and when ever i get to the login screen (just before actually when the screen is still all white) it freezes. From what i've read it sounds like a graphics problem and i think it probably is because the rotating 'loading mouse' is very blocky. Does anyone know how i can overcome this problem?

I read somewhere that it was possible to change some settings using the grub root shell prompt but when i try to acess this it requires a password (or ctrl-D) to continue. The problem with this is im sure i've never set a password so cant access the prompt.

Really stuck so any help would be gratefully appreciated.

Thanks, Marcus

I'm running an HP2133 mininote by the way.

b@sh_n3rd
May 21st, 2009, 01:06 PM
Hi...It does seem to be a graphics issue..what video adapter do you have on your PC?
The root password is the same password you use to login...
I'm not sure of the "loading mouse" thingy though...It could just be another symptom to one prob...

Oh yeah, and welcome to the community! :D

Mr_Cus
May 21st, 2009, 01:16 PM
Hi...It does seem to be a graphics issue..what video adapter do you have on your PC?
The root password is the same password you use to login...
I'm not sure of the "loading mouse" thingy though...It could just be another symptom to one prob...

Oh yeah, and welcome to the community! :D

Hi, thanks for your reply :D,
i think the video adapter is chrome 9? would that sound right to you?

As for the password I thought thats what it was but when i enter my password and press enter the same line comes up again asking for my password or ctrl-d to continue. puzzling!!!

Is there anyway to change the resolution ubuntu loads up in by using the command prompt grub> ?

Thanks again