PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] installaton freezes

Zombie Socrates
May 20th, 2009, 08:23 AM
Hi, and thanks for reading my post. I'm a extreme novice who recenetly decided to give linux a try. I've been trying to get ubuntu 9.04 installed for 2 days now with no success. When I run the installation through the live CD I get as far as copying system files, at which point the computer freezes up (mouse won't move, progress bar freezes, not HD activity). This usually occurs between 22 - 29%. I've also tried using the alternative install CD with similar results. After several attempts I decided to try a different distribution. So far I've tried Fedora 8 and 10, Debian 5, and Suse 11.1. All of them freeze at various points in the installation. Any ideas on what might be causing the problem? System information follows:

Via k7-ms8157e
AMD athlon XP 2400+
1024 RAM
ATI Radeon

Thanks in advance for any help!

Zombie Socrates
May 20th, 2009, 05:47 PM
Ok, I can add 8.04 to the list of failed attempts. Installation froze at copying files, 23% and 24% on two respective attempts.

I tried installing ubuntu 9.04 on an old laptop and it went off without a hitch, so my guess is something about my other system is causing the install to fail. The problem is I can't figure out what that something is. Thanks again for any help you can provide.

albinootje
May 20th, 2009, 05:58 PM
I tried installing ubuntu 9.04 on an old laptop and it went off without a hitch, so my guess is something about my other system is causing the install to fail.

I assume you burned the installations cdroms at low speed, and you verified them with md5sum ?

Try and find out whether that specific machine needs extra boot parameters. I usually try "noapic nolapic" first when a machine or an installation gives trouble.
And as an example, at work there's a machine which needs "irqpoll" as boot parameter otherwise it won't even boot properly.

See here :
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BurningIsoHowto