PDA

View Full Version : frustration

infinities
May 20th, 2009, 01:04 AM
I'm new to *nix, and I just installed ubuntu on my laptop so that I can do some programming.

So far I've gotten eclipse installed, but I'm a little annoyed by the IDE. I'm not a professional, and I never find the need to actually create projects. Maybe I should be getting in that habit? Let me know. Anyway, I'm working on something, and I don't know how you're supposed to run individual files. I'm always forced to create some sort of project which later I can't even find. IT'S ANNOYING.

I also installed java 1.6(I THINK) and I haven't been able to correctly update it from 1.5 on eclipse. The amount of configuration just overwhelms me.

I've tried BlueJ and JEdit, and I can't even find the options for compiling the files. Why does this have to be difficult? Does anyone know of a simple IDE that can compile java?

cl333r
May 20th, 2009, 01:09 AM
The most user friendly ide for Java is NetBeans:

http://www.netbeans.org/downloads/

download NetBeans from the link above since the version from the repositories has been reported as glitchy by some users.

And I agree with you, Eclipse su* when it comes to ease of use.

If you have several Java JDKs installed choose the one you need to be the default:
sudo update-alternatives --config java

PS: a project to an IDE is what an object is to Java - you can't get along without it, if you think you can't get along with projects you most likely won't get along with IDEs and thus the only option is to use hand-made makefile scripts and text editors and alike.

infinities
May 20th, 2009, 01:13 AM
I already downloaded netbeans, but being that I'm a newbie at *nix, I don't know how you're supposed to install the .sh

I was probably going to look it up now.

also, what is the difference between OpenJDK and the normal JDK?

Joeb454
May 20th, 2009, 01:18 AM
To install it (lets assume the .sh file is on your desktop).

Open a terminal, and run