PDA

View Full Version : If you didn't have the LiveCD, would your job be more difficult?

Roasted
May 19th, 2009, 06:32 PM
I work in IT at a school district. As we speak I'm on an Ubuntu LiveCD copying the profile of a teacher on a non-bootable Windows XP hard drive. Even Super Grub didn't boot the thing. It just sits at a black screen. Unsure of what else to do I decided to copy the profile contents after I saw in the LiveCD I was able to see it.

Then I sat back and really thought for a moment about just how often I do this and how much I really utilize a simple Ubuntu LiveCD to the maximum.

Is anybody else in the same boat? How often do you use the LiveCD and what for? Home? Work? etc... Curious to hear what others have to say.

forrestcupp
May 19th, 2009, 06:46 PM
My job wouldn't be more difficult, but my life with my personal computer would be.

I recently trashed my Windows computer when I used the GParted Live CD. I didn't back anything up because I've never had trouble with it, and I've never even heard of anyone having trouble. Thankfully, I was able to boot up to an Ubuntu Live CD and retrieve all of my files before I reinstalled my system.

Lesson to learn: even though GParted is awesome, it can still hose your system so always back up your data.

gn2
May 19th, 2009, 06:52 PM
I rarely use Live CDs or USBs, probably less than once a fortnight.

Firestem4
May 19th, 2009, 06:53 PM
LiveCD's can be incredibly useful. Ive been using them in various ways at my workplace. I'm an I.T. Tech.

One of the best ways ive used LiveCD's are to make modifications to a HDD while booting from the LiveCD (possibly an in-op hard drive, or in case of windows. Delete files that can't be deleted when the system is running).

Or, Avira has a free LiveCD that boots their anti-virus scanner (daily antivirus definitions) Its a great on-hand AntiVirus tool. (Not meant to replace a real Virus solution though, especially in a windows enviroment).

michaeldt
May 19th, 2009, 07:03 PM