PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations for HTML and CSS Editors

AaronRGod
May 19th, 2009, 04:27 PM
Hoy there, gang. I am just getting in to web development, and I am looking for a light weight editor for writing HTML and CSS.

I am sure that experts may tell me to just use a basic text editor, but coming from a programming background, I am used to working with integrated development environments, and I find my self wanting to use indentation for elements, which I obviously can not get from a basic text editor. Of course, I am also aware that indenting like in soft ware programming is not the standard for HTML, but this is just my preference.

So, there is my long winded explanation. Does any one have any suggestions? Of course, I have googled the concept, but since I am new to this field, I really do not know what I am looking for, or what is actually useful.

.nedberg
May 19th, 2009, 05:32 PM
I use Eclipse with Aptana for most of my development. It supports html, php (plug in) and css. With EsFtp you can also upload to a server with an easy key combo.

If I just need to do some small editing I use Kate or Notepad++ (when I am on Windows). I am sure GEdit has got similar capabilities to Kate when it comes to indentation and color coding.

AaronRGod
May 19th, 2009, 05:38 PM
If I just need to do some small editing I use Kate or Notepad++ (when I am on Windows).

I completely forgot to mention that I will be working in both Windows and Ubuntu, depending on if I am traveling while working. Thanks for the suggestions and reminder.

wsonar
May 19th, 2009, 05:39 PM
Gedit is pretty awesome..

in windows notepad ++

Xbehave
May 19th, 2009, 05:47 PM
nano ftw :P
kate can do basic stuff but for WYSIWYG i last used quanta/bluefish (but it was a while ago and bother were adequate but not great)

RiceMonster
May 19th, 2009, 06:09 PM