PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] have been dual-booting, now ready to remove windows...

clairefun
May 19th, 2009, 11:20 AM
Hi all,
As the title says, I've been dual-booting ubuntu and windows for the last couple of weeks. It's been a learning curve - I'm a complete linux noob, and a little nervous of the terminal, as I don't know what I'm doing. I've been using PCs for almost 20 years so it's quite a strange feeling to just have no idea. I had to fiddle about with partition sizes and assorted bits of software that haven't quite been working right but am now - I think, I hope - ready to just get rid of the windows stuff and reclaim the space it takes up for ubuntu. What's the best way to do this? I don't want to have to reinstall from the live CD if I can help it (as I've made lots of fiddly little changes here and there) and I don't *believe* I have any personal files I care much about in my windows directory. Should I just delete assorted folders and use g-parted again, or is there a better way? And is there anything in my windows files that I should check? Most of my documents/mp3s/photographs etc are on a different drive anyway.

Thanking you in advance for your help and advice - the amount of reading of this place I've done recertly I know you're a friendly and helpful bunch before I even posted anything myself :)

Claire

dandnsmith
May 19th, 2009, 11:38 AM
Do you consider it essential to recover the space used for Windows?
If the answer is either no, or you're not sure, then I'd counsel leaving things until you've a bit more experience.

The risks are mostly to do with rendering the PC unbootable - you haven't posted enough detail about the setup to allow for a proper assessment.
What you need to know (for a start) is
- what partitions you have on the HDD (hard disk)
- where GRUB is installed
- where the GRUB files are which it uses during booting
- how to recover the bootability if you mess things up.

coffeecat
May 19th, 2009, 11:45 AM