PDA

View Full Version : Do you have any regrets about not going or going to college (programmers)?

puddinlover
May 18th, 2009, 12:22 PM
This post is targeted mainly at programmers but anyone is welcome to take part. If you are not a programmer please make sure you mention that in your reply though.

Basically I'm curious to see what programmers have to say about college and going or not going and what one may gain or lack from doing so.

I made a blog post with other questions here (http://codejustin.com/do-you-have-any-regrets-about-not-going-or-going-to-college/) if anyone cares to read all my questions or see replies from outside the ubuntu community (like they matter:p).

lisati
May 18th, 2009, 12:31 PM
As an occasional programmer, I sometimes wish I had been wiser with my choice of courses and the amount of effort I put into my studies. Receiving letters which refer to "insufficient academic progress" isn't the kind of thing you want to be doing....
Having said that, if you're sufficiently interested in a topic, you'll find a way of gaining experience and knowledge that no course or textbook can give you.

anaconda
May 18th, 2009, 12:51 PM
if you're sufficiently interested in a topic, you'll find a way of gaining experience and knowledge that no course or textbook can give you.

I agree with that.

If you really want to learn programming , then college WASTES your time, You will be studying lots and lots of stuff that wont have anything to do witn programming or computers... Like mathematics, physics, electronics, more mathematics, probability, ergonomy, law, etc....

And when they will actually teach something interesting the course will end almost before it started, and you wont have enough time to study it as throughly as you would like (because your time is eaten away by other subjects, homeworks, and pointless assignments.)

Having said that I think college can be a fun place to be, especially if you don't take studying too seriously.