PDA

View Full Version : The voices told me to say hello

YoungJules
January 12th, 2006, 02:23 PM
So here I am, hopefully making my first post today by saying hello to the Community Chat forum :-)

I'm a programmer of many year's experience, having started in the wonderful world of Honeywell and Cobol 68. I know something of 'nix, having had to use it now and then for my work but have been mostly working on ******* as mandated by our corporate bean-counters and white-hatters...

I'm currently using my Ubuntu 5.10 distro on a headless dual-cpu (don't get too excited, they're only 400MHz PIIs!) machine. I use the machine for developing home-automation solutions using the K8055 USB-interface board and a home-brewed parallel-port interface (so far only at the prototyping stage).

I'd seen the Ubuntu forums before, but having answered yet another of my dumb questions (how to use Synaptic through our company firewall), I thought it was time I bit the bullet and actually joined up.

I'm sure I will ask some VERY dumb questions now and then but am willing to learn and share what I know.

Thanks for a great forum :cool:

stimpack
January 12th, 2006, 03:42 PM
Welcome to Ubuntu!. We all ask silly questions, but the day you first answer somebody else's question is a great day indeed.

earobinson
January 12th, 2006, 03:49 PM
Welcome

oliverb
August 18th, 2006, 08:40 PM
Hi, I was looking for info on the k8055 board as I downloaded a linux "driver" for it but I cannot get it to compile, as there seems to be a problem with usb.h. Are you using the board under linux? If so who's driver are you using?

jISh
August 18th, 2006, 11:10 PM
Welcome to the forums.

hentaidan
September 14th, 2006, 01:04 PM
Hi, I was looking for info on the k8055 board as I downloaded a linux "driver" for it but I cannot get it to compile, as there seems to be a problem with usb.h. Are you using the board under linux? If so who's driver are you using?