PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] problems in Ubuntu new install

dreamer565
May 17th, 2009, 01:19 AM
Having issues with a new install of 9.04. I'm new to this.
Ubuntu is installed to a external USB drive (have issue no longer being able to boot to windows xp which is a separate issue).

Ubuntu installed to a 2.5GB media partition that it created, and also have just under 1 terabyte available on the new hard drive. Windows is installed on a 80gb internal drive which had over 60% free, and have a 2nd 120gb internal drive used inside windows. I can see the 2nd 120gb drive in ubuntu and access the files but not the internal 80 gb drive. When I first installed ubuntu, it recognized i had xp and pulled in my documents from the 80gb drive. However, I no longer see them. That's minor - i have a backup.

My main complaint is that the web browser doesn't work.
Firefox crashes on me if i click tools - addons (haven't tried to install anything other than flash).

Any changes i make inside firefox aren't persistent. If i close firefox and reopen it any changes are lost. This is without a reboot.

If i try to download a file it will tell me i'm out of space. If i open options to have it ask me where to save documents and try to download something - the window that would allow me to browse to a new location pops up but is behind the error window that says i can't download.

Also can't fill out forms - for example can't login to this forum, enter user name and password and click login and nothing happens. Same thing occurs if trying to register at a new site, etc.

Also, don't have any back buttons in firefox - can't go back to preceding webpage.

This was all working initially when first installed ubuntu.

If i need to reinstall - how do i install over top of the existing install without wiping out my windows install (that is already not booting correctly)? i don't want to do any more damage than already's been done.

any help would be appreciated.

mikewhatever