PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Compiz

PhilMize
May 16th, 2009, 11:58 PM
Sooo I'm new to kubuntu and I'm not sure exactly whats up with kde. It seems a little buggy and or hesitant on my lenovo.But it just feels right compared to gnome. So I'm wondering how do I configure compiz in kde? I have synaptic installed and installed compiz, well I think I did. Are there separate versions of compiz? One for kde, one for gnome? Is he reason I can't get it working because I'm running 9.04? On ubuntu 9.04 compiz was all sorts of effed up, but before I switched to kubuntu, I ran ubuntu 8.10 and had everything working perfectly. If anybody could show me a few pointers to kde, is there anything I should be doing? O and for w/e reason pidgin won't stay open when i close it... like it doesn't go to the system tray. Annoying is all really.

Thanks,
:o

Screwdriver0815
May 17th, 2009, 12:58 AM
when you run Kubuntu Jaunty you actually don't need Compiz because Kwin - the window manager of KDE supports 3d effects by default when you have a graphics driver which supports 3d. Just go into system settings -> desktop -> desktop effects (on the lefthand side). There you can switch on the effects and choose which you want to use.

anyway there is a different compiz for KDE: compiz-kde but I don't know how this works in KDE 4.2

Pidgin you also don't need (if you have installed it seperatly) because Kopete does the job as good as Pidgin.

krazyd
May 17th, 2009, 07:19 AM
I would also recommend the built-in kwin desktop effects over compiz. It is much more usable and uses less resources than compiz here.

PhilMize
May 18th, 2009, 04:21 AM
yes i had the desktop effects enabled but i rebooted and they are gone and now when i open them i can see they are all enabled but they arnt working...

and kopete is gay because it doesnt support gtalk

krazyd
May 18th, 2009, 06:51 AM