PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] How do i setup Conky RSS?



BazookaAce
May 16th, 2009, 10:12 PM
Hi,

How do i setup RSS in conky? Can somebody tell me what the configfile should be named, and in with folder it should go?

Thanks in advance.

m_duck
May 16th, 2009, 10:19 PM
Check out the conky documentation (http://conky.sourceforge.net/variables.html) for how to use the rss function.

As long as you already have conky up and running, you just need to add a few lines to your ~/.conkyrc. For example, to display a feed title, followed by the newest 3 items in the feed:

${rss http://website.com/feeds 10 feed_title}
${rss http://website.com/feeds 10 item_title 1}
${rss http://website.com/feeds 10 item_title 2}
${rss http://website.com/feeds 10 item_title 3}Where obviously you need to change the URL to the one you want and the 60 means update every 60 mins. There are a couple of other options to use as well which are outlined on the site mentioned above.

HTH

BazookaAce
May 18th, 2009, 10:23 PM
Thanks!

But one question. I followed the conky-guide in this forum, and my Conkysetup is in the "conkymain"-file. How can i use several conkys? I've tried to setup a "Now Playing"-conky in the .conkyrc-file, but nothing happens.

sherl0k
May 18th, 2009, 10:42 PM
If you want to use multiple conky configurations, specify the -c parameter at runtime.

According to the manpage:

-c | --config=FILE
Config file to load instead of $HOME/.conkyrc

So in theory you can have multiple versions of conky running with multiple config files.

m_duck
May 18th, 2009, 11:04 PM
Yeah, what sherl0k said :D

If you were to start conky normally, it will load the ~/.conkyrc preferably, or /etc/conky/conky.conf if that doesn't exist. To load different configs, say ~/.conkyconfig1 and ~/.conkyconfig2 you would need to execute
conky -c ~/.conkyconfig1and
conky -c conkyconfig2To make them automatically launch on startup you will need to add a script that is a bit like the following to your autostarted apps:
#!/bin/bash
sleep 5 && conky -c ~/.conkyconfig1 &
sleep 5 && conky -c ~/.conkyconfig2 &You then need to open a terminal and type
chmod +x /path/to/scriptin order to make it executable. The sleep 5 is in case you are using compiz or something to stop borders being drawn behind them, thought you will probably need to increase this number to delay conkys start until after compiz is loaded. There is another way to stop the shadows from within compiz but I don't know how to do it as I don't use it.

BazookaAce
May 18th, 2009, 11:14 PM
Thanks! I'll try this out! If i'm not back in 10 minutes, i did it :)