PDA

View Full Version : What do Writers Think of ScribeShare

Black Mage
May 14th, 2009, 07:18 PM
Hey all writers,

I'm a writer trying to get feedback of a site I made for writers, but feedback is hard to get to I'm asking here. The site I made is called ScribeShare and it seems the problem is people feel its like every other writing site on the web. But they don't realize, compared to other sites which are forum or blog based, I built this site from scratch and it has features and abilities WAY beyond a standard forum or blog. I also built it on a Ubuntu Server :).

So I was wondering can if any writers here can take a look, if willingly try it, and give me some feedback so I know what I'm doing wrong. The url is http://www.scribeshare.net .

Thanks to any writers that offer any feedback,

Redache
May 14th, 2009, 07:50 PM
I can tell you from a purely aesthetic perspective that it doesn't looks pleasing. I know you may think that the features are more important than the design but the design is what captivates people and makes them stay and look around your website.

If you improved how it looks and made it more visually appealing you'd find more people looking around your website and finding the features that separate your website from the rest.

Black Mage
May 14th, 2009, 08:01 PM
What did you feel was visually unappealling? The colors? The layout?

Btw, thanks your input.

Dragonbite
May 14th, 2009, 08:19 PM
I'll try and check it out tonight.

Black Mage
May 14th, 2009, 09:24 PM
Thanks, I look forward to it and really appreciate it.

Redache
May 14th, 2009, 10:02 PM
To make it More Visually Appealing I would do the following:

Change the Font for the whole site to be unified, maybe to Arial or something.

On the sidebar it would look much better if the links were centered rather than left justified. The Repeating Background Picture doesn't look right as the repeats don't flow together. It might be better as a single colour or a larger picture.