PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] upgrading from Ubuntu Server 7.10

newbie_po_ako
May 14th, 2009, 01:37 AM
We just had our mail server running on Ubuntu Server 7.10 last year. A computer company set it up for us and it's really pricey. Now it seems that this OS is no longer supported and we need to upgrade the OS. I am a newbie in Ubuntu, I only know a few basic terminal commands. I want to help our company save some money in having our server upgraded. Please advise where to start and how to do it. By the way, this computer is handling our email (using the following packages: postfix, dovecot, amavis, clamav and squirrelmail), proxy (using the SQUID proxy server) and firewall (using the SHOREWALL Firewall).

Thank you and more power to Ubuntu team.

pastalavista
May 14th, 2009, 01:44 AM
You can upgrade automatically to Ubuntu 8.04. If you're online just open a terminal and enter

sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

If your server was set up after April of last year, he should have used Hardy (8.04) anyway as it is a Long Term Service release, meaning it will be supported 5 yrs. for servers and 3 yrs. for desktops.

iaculallad
May 14th, 2009, 02:07 AM
We just had our mail server running on Ubuntu Server 7.10 last year. A computer company set it up for us and it's really pricey. Now it seems that this OS is no longer supported and we need to upgrade the OS. I am a newbie in Ubuntu, I only know a few basic terminal commands. I want to help our company save some money in having our server upgraded. Please advise where to start and how to do it. By the way, this computer is handling our email (using the following packages: postfix, dovecot, amavis, clamav and squirrelmail), proxy (using the SQUID proxy server) and firewall (using the SHOREWALL Firewall).