PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Live USB question

grandkodiak
May 13th, 2009, 05:29 AM
Ive been unable to install ANY linux and I think i've narrowed it down to my cd/dvd drive... instead of replacing it i was wondering if there is a way to install a full copy of ubuntu or fedora from a live usb install? i have a usb thumbdrive, but im new to linux and i am not familiar on how a "live" copy works... once its up and running off of the usb stick, can i use it to partition, format and install on my existing harddrive? or will it only let me "try out" the software off of the thumbdrive or something along those lines?

orange-wedge
May 13th, 2009, 05:56 AM
just download the iso of the distro you want and use unetbootin to load it on your thumb drive.

unetbootin is available for linux or windows.

grandkodiak
May 14th, 2009, 03:07 AM
ok i downloaded that and installed it on my usb stick, but when i reboot, it just goes to windows. how do i set it to boot from the usb? i went into bios, and the priority options are the cd drive, raid array and removable drive. im assuming that means usb, but maybe its floppy (which i dont have installed) is there another option i am missing to boot from a usb stick?

lukenz
May 14th, 2009, 04:08 AM
In Bios, look for options that make the boot quiet and disable them. When booting some BIOS' have an option, like press F5 (just an example) where you can select which device to boot to. Disabling a quite boot might just give you the ability to see other options on start up.

BIOS can be weird, I have an eee pc 1000 he that I was using to boot up netbook remix. When I set the boot priority it made no change, but pressing esc when it was booting up enabled me to select either my usb or my hard drive (F2 was the option to enter bios). There was also another option in BIOS to select available devices or something similar.

Try different USB ports. I have heard that on some pc's the front ones are disabled for boot.