PDA

View Full Version : Cheap printer server?



dragos240
May 13th, 2009, 12:23 AM
Okay, I really am getting very little opportunities with different distros because I use a wireless connection. This is because I am on the first floor, and my router and all connections are on the second, I really want to have a nice hardwire connection, is there a nice cheap printer server anyone could suggest? Or a nice guide for connecting to the internet with iwconfig and iwlist to a WPA connection?

I'M NOT TALKING ABOUT PRINTERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

cariboo
May 13th, 2009, 01:01 AM
You don't need much of a computer to build yourself a print server. If you've got an old unused computer, just install the server edition and select print server from the menu during installation.

dragos240
May 13th, 2009, 01:07 AM
How? I was actually talking about these (http://computers.pricegrabber.com/print-servers/Netgear-1-PORT-USB-MINI/m1746295.html) types of print servers, although, I have an old computer that used to run xp, it has a nice ethernet port, and wireless capabilities. What I want to know, is can I just have a small computer that does this:
Connects to a WPA connection,
and directs the connection via ethernet next to my computer. Is this possible? And how would I got about doing this.

HermanAB
May 13th, 2009, 02:16 AM
I'd buy a netbook on Ebay and put it next to the printer.

oldsoundguy
May 13th, 2009, 02:24 AM
I have three printers hung off of a Windows XP machine. And several other printers .. wired/wireless for a total of 7 computers and 6 printers. The XP machine also serves a the ADOBE machine for my photography. SELDOM goes on line.

All it takes is Samba and hook up the printers.

dragos240
May 13th, 2009, 02:24 AM
Do people even read the posts now-a-days? I'm not talking about printers!!! A printer server is a small piece of technology that allows an ethernet connection to connect to another ethernet port from a distance directly.

cariboo
May 13th, 2009, 04:47 AM
You are using the wrong terminology, a print server is a computer or other device that printers are connected to. What you are talking about is a wifi access point or a port extender. If you plan on hard wiring your network connection all you need is a cable long enough to make the connection from your router to your computer. The maximum length of an ethernet cable can be 100M, 328ft, for those of you that don't do meters. IF you don't have enough ports, you may need a network switch (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Network_switch).

oldsoundguy
May 13th, 2009, 05:01 PM
Do people even read the posts now-a-days? I'm not talking about printers!!! A printer server is a small piece of technology that allows an ethernet connection to connect to another ethernet port from a distance directly.

No it isn't .. a print server is what caraboo907 said .. it works with PRINTERS and is as I described in my previous post.

You are talking what is called and "extender" in some areas but, in reality is an "access point". They can be either Wireless or wired depending on the conditions. Mine is wired because of signal loss caused by building construction. (Concrete block with steel re-bar .. giant radio sink!).
With my set up, it took a 50' cord and drilling through a couple of walls (including the concrete block) to accomplish the deed.
Mine is the same brand as my wireless router (D-Link).
Cheap? .. now that you know what you're looking for, eBay .. that's where I got my unit. (and the cable).

JohnFH
May 13th, 2009, 05:24 PM
Connects to a WPA connection,
and directs the connection via ethernet next to my computer. Is this possible? And how would I got about doing this.

You mean you want to access the wireless network on your desktop machine? If so, then you can use a usb wireless adapter, eg:

http://www.amazon.com/Medialink-Wireless-USB-Adapter-Compatible/dp/B001DKBNMA/ref=tag_stp_st_edpp_url (http://www.amazon.com/Medialink-Wireless-USB-Adapter-Compatible/dp/B001DKBNMA/ref=tag_stp_st_edpp_url)

dragos240
May 13th, 2009, 09:59 PM
You mean you want to access the wireless network on your desktop machine? If so, then you can use a usb wireless adapter, eg:

http://www.amazon.com/Medialink-Wireless-USB-Adapter-Compatible/dp/B001DKBNMA/ref=tag_stp_st_edpp_url (http://www.amazon.com/Medialink-Wireless-USB-Adapter-Compatible/dp/B001DKBNMA/ref=tag_stp_st_edpp_url)

No. I CAN use wireless, I need a wireless extender (apparently) to connect the router directly to my ethernet port.

hanzomon4
May 13th, 2009, 10:49 PM
Ohh snap/ I bet you feel SWOLE :P

dragos240
May 13th, 2009, 10:53 PM
Whats 'swole'

hanzomon4
May 13th, 2009, 11:12 PM
It's basically a phrase in the south. It means that you did or said something very wrong arrogantly thinking that you were right, then having it pointed out how wrong you were.

EX. A person loses a jacket at a party and accuses someone of stealing his/her jacket because the accused has the same jacket. During the height of the accusers righteous anger someone presents the accuser his/her jacket which was actually where the accuser, forgot, he/she left it. The accuser is thus Swole, i/e similar to embarrassed or shamed for acting like a BLEEP

dragos240
May 13th, 2009, 11:26 PM
Well..... I was just posting what my dad thought it was. So I never was completely sure anyways.

oldsoundguy
May 13th, 2009, 11:34 PM
a read is in order.

http://computer.howstuffworks.com/home-network.htm

hanzomon4
May 14th, 2009, 12:44 AM
Well..... I was just posting what my dad thought it was. So I never was completely sure anyways.

It's all in good fun...

drawkcab
May 14th, 2009, 12:47 AM
$55 for a printer server?

I just paid $110 for a wifi laser printer that I can access over my network.

When you factor in how much it will cost you for a new ink cartridge, maybe you should just talk dad into upgrading the printer?

dragos240
May 14th, 2009, 12:49 AM
Okay, I really wish we could change titles. I'M NOT TALKING ABOUT PRINTERS!!!!

drawkcab
May 14th, 2009, 02:16 AM
Still no idea what you're talking about...

dragos240
May 14th, 2009, 02:35 AM
See my first post.

drawkcab
May 14th, 2009, 03:25 AM
So you need a 20 or 50 ft ethernet cable and a drill?

dragos240
May 14th, 2009, 06:32 PM
I could.... but I don't think my dad has any time for that, but it wouldn't really be too hard, because my room is directly below where the router is.

mousestalker
May 14th, 2009, 06:57 PM
If you're near a Fry's just go there and see what you see. If you aren't, ebay is your friend (that or newegg or tiger direct).

oldsoundguy
May 14th, 2009, 07:44 PM
If the router upstairs is already wireless enabled, all that is needed is a USB wi-fi plug in unit. They DO work.
Personally I opted for PCI plug in cards for my wireless desktops. More powerful than the USB units as they have the option for an external antenna, and as such, you can put in a hi-gain antenna.

dragos240
May 14th, 2009, 08:01 PM
If you're near a Fry's just go there and see what you see. If you aren't, ebay is your friend (that or newegg or tiger direct).

Whats a "fry's"? Is it a store?

gletob
May 14th, 2009, 08:23 PM
From what I'm getting you need something that connects:

INTERNET----WIRELESS ROTER~~~~~~~(What you need)-------Computer

-- = Ethernet
~~ = Wifi

If that's right you need one of these (Ignore that some are called gaming adapters):
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833127061
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833203003
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833156258
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16873999102
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833124279

Also in my diagram you can replace the Computer with a switch I believe.

dragos240
May 14th, 2009, 08:27 PM
From what I'm getting you need something that connects:

INTERNET----WIRELESS ROTER~~~~~~~(What you need)-------Computer

-- = Ethernet
~~ = Wifi

If that's right you need one of these (Ignore that some are called gaming adapters):
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833127061
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833203003
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833156258
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16873999102
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833124279

Also in my diagram you can replace the Computer with a switch I believe.

Those are what I need!! Do they require software to work??

gletob
May 14th, 2009, 08:42 PM
Those are what I need!! Do they require software to work??

The dlink (the top link) instructions say that you have to go to http://192.168.0.30 in your browser but that's it

super.rad
May 14th, 2009, 11:54 PM
From what I'm getting you need something that connects:

INTERNET----WIRELESS ROTER~~~~~~~(What you need)-------Computer

-- = Ethernet
~~ = Wifi
Sorry if I'm being stupid (few drinks tonight) but why does he need something to connect to the wireless network then connect to his computer over ethernet? Whats wrong with just connecting to the wireless from his computer using a USB/PCI wireless card?

JohnFH
May 15th, 2009, 12:12 AM
Ok, here's how I see it. If you want to print photos I reckon your most economical solution is to send your images off to a lab to get them printed. Very cheap and surprisingly fast! If it's the noise of the printer that you are concerned about (and that's why you want it in a separate room?) then do some research to find the quietest printer around, but be prepared to spend a little more. Setting up a machine dedicated to being a print server may well be overkill in your case, but if you still want to go down that route then it's easy to do anyway and you won't need a decent machine to do it.

To avoid getting advice like that, then I suggest you start a new thread, clearly stating your situation and questions, using correct terms, be polite and don't shout at people for not being able to read your mind.

dragos240
May 15th, 2009, 08:49 PM
Ok, here's how I see it. If you want to print photos I reckon your most economical solution is to send your images off to a lab to get them printed. Very cheap and surprisingly fast! If it's the noise of the printer that you are concerned about (and that's why you want it in a separate room?) then do some research to find the quietest printer around, but be prepared to spend a little more. Setting up a machine dedicated to being a print server may well be overkill in your case, but if you still want to go down that route then it's easy to do anyway and you won't need a decent machine to do it.

To avoid getting advice like that, then I suggest you start a new thread, clearly stating your situation and questions, using correct terms, be polite and don't shout at people for not being able to read your mind.

Thank you, I'll keep that In mind.

dragos240
May 15th, 2009, 08:54 PM
Sorry if I'm being stupid (few drinks tonight) but why does he need something to connect to the wireless network then connect to his computer over ethernet? Whats wrong with just connecting to the wireless from his computer using a USB/PCI wireless card?

It's because I need a solid connection for a few distros like arch.

oldsoundguy
May 15th, 2009, 09:45 PM
It's because I need a solid connection for a few distros like arch.

Sorry, think you think that wireless is NOT solid. You do NOT need a hard wired connection PROVIDED your wireless router and your wireless card/plug-in are not made by Fred Flintstone. Name brands WORK and work well. Otherwise they would NOT be name brands.
Use of WIRELESS in a hospital environment is proof enough for me.

I have 6 such units on my network and never have had an upload/download issue since going to a "g" system.

dragos240
May 16th, 2009, 01:24 AM
Sorry, think you think that wireless is NOT solid. You do NOT need a hard wired connection PROVIDED your wireless router and your wireless card/plug-in are not made by Fred Flintstone. Name brands WORK and work well. Otherwise they would NOT be name brands.
Use of WIRELESS in a hospital environment is proof enough for me.

I have 6 such units on my network and never have had an upload/download issue since going to a "g" system.

Well actually, I like my wireless very much, but because I have wpa, it's hard to configure, nm-applet works like a charm with wpa. But I've tried iwconfig and iwlist etc, and with no luck. I can't get anything to connect, I've tried multiple tutorials, multiple times, if I knew how to do it properly, I would. But ethernet has always been simpler, I just type dhcpcd eth0 and it works.