PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't resize partition

0wn3d
May 12th, 2009, 11:41 PM
I'm trying to install Ubuntu (The latest version, its my first time w/ linux, but I'm pretty good w/ comps) and when I use the CD to install I don't have the 'Guided - Resize' option. I also tried to run ubuntu w/ the live CD and I tried to use gparted on it and it also did not allow me to resize. After installing dmraid gparted was able to detect my RAID array, but still would not let me resize. I need to resize my XP installation which currently takes up my entire hard drive (I need to keep XP, I play lots of games and am not sure if I want to fully switch to linux).

After looking around I think that it has to do with my raid being fakeraid (its set up in RAID 1). I need to know how to resize my XP NTFS partition so I can fit ubuntu, does anyone know how I can get this working?

jerrrys
May 12th, 2009, 11:56 PM
it is recommend that the alternate cd and not the live cd be use when installing to a raid system...
however, since your just doing a mirror why not unplug #2 hdd and see if the live cd will then load...you might get lucky...

0wn3d
May 13th, 2009, 12:02 AM
it is recommend that the alternate cd and not the live cd be use when installing to a raid system...
however, since your just doing a mirror why not unplug #2 hdd and see if the live cd will then load...you might get lucky...

Will this affect my current XP installation? I'm actually fine with getting rid of RAID, but I wasn't aware that you could just unplug a hard drive and start using a copy of XP installed on a raid array on one of the single hard drives.

jerrrys
May 13th, 2009, 12:39 AM
your running raid 1 which means the second hdd is a clone of #1...this is your setup, right? so by unplugging the second drive, you will have a backup of xp, if anything goes wrong...