PDA

View Full Version : A conundrum for the community...

Arbiter
May 11th, 2009, 11:43 PM
Hello all, I've come looking for an answer to a question posed to me - if possible I'd like to know if there is some kind of open source (or even closed source) program that could achieve this.

I'm a mid level IT admin who has been asked to find a way to wipe 100 or more computer's hard drives via network simultaneously with a minimum of interaction. The way my supervisor wants it is to "be able to push a button on the server and overnight all the machines on the network have their hard drives wiped."

I'd like to know if there's a way to "push" a drive wipe command out to machines on a network, or if something like this must be done individually on each machine by setting up some kind of PXE boot or some such.

Inversely, I'd like to know if there's a way to image a computer's hard disk with a new image in a similar manner. My supervisor has lead me to believe that there is some technology out there that will accomplish this.

So, any such animal out there?

Thanks in advance,

Arbiter

will1911a1
May 11th, 2009, 11:46 PM
I was prepared to say that I've never seen or heard of such a program, but then I found this:

http://www.cyberscrub.com/topics/clean_disks_with_hard_drive_eraser.php

Dunno if it's legit or not though.

wannadumpwindows
May 11th, 2009, 11:48 PM
I'm not sure about wiping the drives, but there's a pretty nice program for reinstalling them all. It's called Clonezilla.

Have a look here:
http://www.clonezilla.org/

t0p
May 11th, 2009, 11:53 PM
Check out this page (http://mirror.href.com/thestarman/asm/mbr/WIPE.html).

Firestem4
May 12th, 2009, 12:13 AM
Thats a very interesting task you have. I'd be very interested to hear what you come up with to accomplish this.

starcannon
May 12th, 2009, 12:22 AM