PDA

View Full Version : Has anybody read Artificial Intelligence A Modern Approach?

Gucko
May 11th, 2009, 11:42 PM
Hi guys, I'm a computer engineering student (third year) and I'm reading this textbook:

Artificial Intelligence A Modern Approach second edition.

I wonder if somebody has read it.

Today I read the first chapter of the book and I found it difficult, I understood about 50%. The first chapter is all about the historical background of AI. It has LOOOOOTS and tooo much information about the historical AI bg. There are lots of terms that I didn't/don't understand in this chapter. Did you face this problem with this chapter also?

This chapter includes info about everything! It mentions terms, experitments, methdologies and other things without fully explanation. The first few pages are easy....but the rest are awful!

I don't know but I feel the rest of the chapters are a lot easier, right?

.Maleficus.
May 12th, 2009, 12:05 AM
It's in my collection, but I haven't read it. I skimmed the first chapter and it looked interesting, but it did also look pretty dry.

Unfortunately, I don't think it will get easier. Artificial intelligence is a huge and complex topic - certainly not for the faint of heart.

Gucko
May 12th, 2009, 12:20 AM
We are studying this book in my university. My prof uses the slides of the book, we studied three chapters until now. I understood 90% of the second and third chapter slides, but I really think that the first chapter is too much in depth in some topics. Anyway I understood the MAIN ideas of the first chapter and answered most of the exercises correctly. But really I don't find AI too much hard :)

I really want to know if you had the same problem with the first chapter.

hobo14
May 12th, 2009, 12:46 AM
On the desk next to me, but I haven't read it...

I just use it as a reference when doing assignments ;)

mohitchawla
May 12th, 2009, 01:15 AM