PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Freeze minutes after login 9.04

quantum64
May 11th, 2009, 03:50 PM
Like many I'm very new to Ubuntu and linux in general, and I'm only posting because I've exhausted all other solutions I have been able to find within the Ubuntu support forum.

The problem:
Clean install of Ubuntu 64bit 9.04 on a empty 320GB drive ext3. About 1 minute after I login, my mouse and keyboard freeze. No key combinations work either. It requires a hard reset. Before 'the freeze', I am able to do anything on the system, no particular function seems to lock it up. It freezes almost exactly the same time after each login.

Computer:
GA-K8NSNXP socket 754
AMD64 3200+
1.5GB Memory
GeForce 6800GT
Audigy 2 sound card
320GB hard drive

Solutions attempted:
1. Removed compiz because I heard the special effect features can freeze some video cards. I followed the following steps to do this.

From the Grub boot menu slect the “recovery mode” option.
Select “root Drop to root shell prompt”
sudo apt-get remove compiz
sudo apt-get remove compiz-core
exit
Still freezes

2. Updated video card drivers by using envy.

Start recovery mode and enter root with networking.
Followed steps in: http://albertomilone.com/envyngfaq.html#A (http://albertomilone.com/envyngfaq.html#A)
Confirmed new drivers in use. sudo nano /etc/X11xorg.conf
Still freezes

3. Updated Ubuntu by following these steps.

apt-get update
apt-get upgrade
Still freezes

4. I then tried the 32bit version of Ubuntu and encountered the same problems.

I've read some things about sound card issues but I'm not sure where to start with that. I suppose I could stry by pulling the sound card and seeing if that works. (Will try later tonight)

For now, can anyone point me in the right direction?

drs305
May 11th, 2009, 03:59 PM
Regarding your envy entry: