PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] update error

Rambleon
May 11th, 2009, 02:42 PM
Hi, I have tried to update my Ubuntu installation but get the following error message. Can you please provide a simple step by step instruction of what to do fro a complete novice to Ubuntu. thanks E: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'dpkg --configure -a' to correct the problem.
E: _cache->open() failed, please report.

pro003
May 11th, 2009, 02:45 PM
Hi, I have tried to update my Ubuntu installation but get the following error message. Can you please provide a simple step by step instruction of what to do fro a complete novice to Ubuntu. thanks E: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'dpkg --configure -a' to correct the problem.
E: _cache->open() failed, please report.

it's just like the error message said, run dpkg --configure -a
in terminal, it should fix the problem... and type sudo before you entering such commands...

Partyboi2
May 11th, 2009, 02:46 PM
Hi, open a terminal (Applications>Accessories>Terminal) and type or paste

sudo dpkg --configure -a

Rambleon
May 11th, 2009, 08:13 PM
thanks for the advice. I have run the command as directed but stop part way through with the message,
gzip: stdout: no space left on device
update-initramfs: failed for /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-generic
dpkg: subprocess post-installation script returned error exit status1

what next please ??

Partyboi2
May 12th, 2009, 02:21 AM
Can you open a terminal and post the output to

df -h

Rambleon
May 12th, 2009, 01:31 PM
Hi Partyboi2
have entered the code to terminal as requested and the output is

Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda6 31G 3.0G 27G 10% /
varrun 379M 104K 379M 1% /var/run
varlock 379M 0 379M 0% /var/lock
udev 379M 56K 379M 1% /dev
devshm 379M 12K 379M 1% /dev/shm
/dev/sda3 46M 40M 3.8M 92% /boot
/dev/sda1 22G 11G 11G 50% /media/sda1
/dev/sda2 22G 4.2G 18G 20% /media/sda2

Partyboi2
May 12th, 2009, 01:36 PM