PDA

View Full Version : why do so many people Beta-tests for windows 7?

Screwdriver0815
May 10th, 2009, 09:24 PM
Hi,

first of all: I wanted to post this in the right category (recuring discussions) but I got a failure message that I am not allowed to do this

so now to the topic:
In the last time I saw lots of threads regarding the new Windows 7 and I came to the conclusion that many people in this forums do actually test this OS. Okay, nothing wrong with that. But I would like to know: why?

Maybe I have to explain a little bit more why I raise this question:

I work in the automotive industry and of course we do all our tests on our own because the customer expects a fully tested and working product which fullfills his needs and expectations.
Never ever would we ship out cars in an early dev. stage and ask people to do Beta-Tests for us.

So in my eyes windows is not an open source product and you get charged for using it (except the Beta stuff). Just like a car. So everybody could lean back himself and wait until he gets the system and if it doesn't work, you get these support guys to work on the issue (like with the car: you go to the dealers and let it fix).
But in this case Microsoft gets many people as testers for free (or do they pay for the testing?), the tester can use the system... yes, thats right... but after a certain testing time you either have to pay or erase it, right?

I mean, Beta testing is okay, but I only would do it when I would get an advantage out of it. So only for open source projects, because the people working on such projects do it, the user gets the system, program, whatever most likely for free and is free to ask for additional features and so on. So in this case, Beta-testing is for the community, but when beta testing Windows, it is for a company and you don't know if they really care for your error reports, feature requests and so on...

so why do you beta test Windows 7? :confused:

cheers

Steffen

mamamia88