PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Can't boot any Ubuntu Live CD! Modern PC, tried everything I can think of...

mindry
May 10th, 2009, 03:10 PM
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Linux, and started checking it out after my brother ordered an Ubuntu CD from Shipit. Since I'd just had to reinstall Windows after a nasty virus that got through my AV somehow, and since I already use FOSS wherever possible, I decided to switch to Linux, and decided that Ubuntu would be the best choice, but I've had no end of problems trying to use the Live CD.

My problem is thus. Every time I boot from a Live CD of Intrepid, Jaunty or anything based off one of those, I get past the loading bar, and then everything freezes. Sometimes I get to move the mouse for a few seconds, sometimes I get the statrup sound, sometimes I see a black X in the middle of the screen, sometimes I even get a few seconds on the desktop, but it always freezes eventually. The screen locks up, the CD drive goes quiet and won't eject, and the Num Lock and Scroll Lock lights on my keyboard start flashing. Then I have to hard-reset. I've tried numerous Ubuntu based distributions, including Mint, and all have the same problem, except the Mint XFCE edition (which eventually worked, although Xubuntu Jaunty doesn't), and Kubuntu Hardy (which works fine, although I haven't tried any other Hardy distributions and don't really want an old version anyway).

What's bizzare is this is NOT an old or obscure computer. It is a HP Pavilion a6220.uk bought in December 2007, with Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 2GHZ, ATI Radeon graphics and 2GB of RAM. Yet every recent Ubuntu distribution I try gives the same flashing keyboard freeze. What in the world could be the problem? I've tried doing all this:

Graphical safe mode/compatibility mode (made NO difference)
Verifying disc integrity (says the disc is OK but still won't boot)
Wubi (exactly the same happens when booting into my new Wubi install)
Burning onto a DVD-RW instead of a CD-R