PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] iburst enigma

russellsouthey
May 10th, 2009, 03:02 PM
Hi All

I'm new to ubuntu... and I'm loving it... I think! I've recently downloaded Jaunty Jakalope 9.0.4. and installed it on a seperate HD. All quite easy and fabulous. I've set the GRUB (just love that name) to boot to XP as my primary OS.

My network connection is through an iBurst desktop modem - connected by ethernet.

After installing ubuntu I did the logical thing and added a DSL connection and everything worked!! So simple I could not believe it. Somewhere along the line I also selected PPPoE. I didn't have to load any drivers or software and I didn't have to use any "sudo" greek to get things started - it just worked. I then used Synaptic App. Manager and added a number of apps - Dolphin file manager and a music app.

All was good... and I was wallowing in ubuntu heaven... loving the clean desktop and tight implementation of menus, apps, multi-tasking music, web, video, etc! I was sold....

My reverie lasted a few days... then all of a sudden - and I mean all of a sudden, the DSL connection disappeared from the Network Manager. I proceeded to repeat the process I had followed previously. I also searched the net and found out I needed to sudo this and sudo that and load drivers and tarballs.... ok I thought... I did what I could. Anyhoo - all to no avail!

I scratched around and I have found a list of DSL connections that I "created" in a folder /etc/networkmanager/system-connections ... there they all are.

All my attempts to restore my sanity and my enjoyment of ubuntu where for all to see... but in the Network Manager NO DSL connections are listed, and any that I add are simply ignored... albeit that these "connections" end up in the /etc/networkmanager/system-connections folder.