PDA

View Full Version : Tweaking - is it a male thing?

stwschool
May 10th, 2009, 07:19 AM
Just having a debate with my girlfriend about tweaking. Now I've been using Ubuntu since about October judging by my sign-up date here, though I recall starting on 8.04 so maybe September. Anyway, even despite being a relative newbie, I've turned into a tweakaholic. My gnome has gone a bit minimal, with gnome-do providing my dock, auto-hiding to get out the way when I don't need it. My top bar has been stripped to the bare essentials and auto-hides (I even tweaked the speed it does so). I've configured keyboard shortcuts to my favourite apps and now just added swiftfox as firefox is too slow. I've set Expo to come up when I mouse to the bottom right corner. My girlfriend on the other hand, she's happy with a stock ubuntu install with a changed wallpaper. This seems a common thing with most women I know, they'll download a pretty wallpaper or a mouse cursor or free smilies (with free virus) for their (usually windows) machines but beyond that they don't tweak. So is it a male thing?

Mr-Biscuit
May 10th, 2009, 07:25 AM
Being a bit foolish to think that optimizing an operating system is based on a pairing of chromosomes, aren't you?

Sef
May 10th, 2009, 07:32 AM
Some people like to tweak and some don't. Gender does not matter.

monsterstack
May 10th, 2009, 07:36 AM
Logic tells me otherwise, but experience tells me as much as what you suggest. That is, till recently. My girlfriend hardly tweaked her settings at all. But then I showed her KDE for the first time a few weeks ago. She was bamboozled with the range of different tweaking options available. She spent literally hours making everything just perfect for her. She decided she didn't much like KDE after a few days, though, and went back to Gnome. Her laptop has been very much more customised since.

AlesUbu123
May 10th, 2009, 08:12 AM