PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wireless Network Detected on 9.04, but no Connection...

fiveacez
May 10th, 2009, 01:56 AM
I just installed 9.04, but I can't connect to my router using the wireless connection. I should be able to because my computer is dual booted with Vista, and it works fine.

What I noticed was, I will type in my encryption key, hit connect, and a window will appear a few minutes later showing a different and longer encryption key than what I put in. It's sending the wrong encryption key. It will be in all numbers and lowercase letters a-f (possibly a hexidecimal code?).

What can I do to fix this? I'm new to Linux, so I'm not very familiar with how to use the terminal yet (what all the commands mean).

chellrose
May 10th, 2009, 02:03 AM
I just installed 9.04, but I can't connect to my router using the wireless connection. I should be able to because my computer is dual booted with Vista, and it works fine.

What I noticed was, I will type in my encryption key, hit connect, and a window will appear a few minutes later showing a different and longer encryption key than what I put in. It's sending the wrong encryption key. It will be in all numbers and lowercase letters a-f (possibly a hexidecimal code?).

What can I do to fix this? I'm new to Linux, so I'm not very familiar with how to use the terminal yet (what all the commands mean).

Are you using the terminal to connect, or a GUI (such as network manager)?

fiveacez
May 10th, 2009, 02:07 AM
GUI...I don't know how to use the terminal to do much.

chellrose
May 10th, 2009, 02:11 AM
GUI...I don't know how to use the terminal to do much.

Do you happen to know the name of the GUI program you're using? And do you have Gnome, or KDE?

fiveacez
May 10th, 2009, 02:15 AM
I'm using Network Connections (System => Preferences).

How do I tell if I'm using Gnome or KDE?

chellrose
May 10th, 2009, 02:26 AM
By what you've described, it sounds like you're using Gnome.