PDA

View Full Version : I HAVE to program an open-source software, what do you need?

Gucko
May 9th, 2009, 11:26 PM
Hi guys, I'm a computer engineering student and I have a project this semester i.e seminar.
Each group has to do a software. I'm not in a group and I want to do a project individually.

I just was wondering what does the open source community need? I'm collecting opinions so please give me what you need or what you miss.

Please consider that I'm alone in this project so I really don't have a lot of time to do a big project. The professor wants us to do a complete project as if we were working in a software company. That means we have to question people, collect feedback, model the software in UML, start coding, document the code and then document the software.....so I will do all these stuff alone :)

As I said I don't want a big project cuz as you saw I have plenty of work to do by my self ;)

I did some research and found that we miss a STANDARD address book software. I want to create a standard address book that has booth Desktop environment and web environment. So you can add your contacts offline on your desktop or on the software website. After that if you want you can sync your contacts in your PC with the website. The address book supports vCards and CSV.

What I mean by standard is that you add your contacts only once. I really found that Evelution's export capability for contacts is weak cuz it doesn't make a good vCard. Same thing with Hotmail for example, when I exported my contacts and imported them using Evolution or Thunderbird, it was all wrong!
I had to rewrite my contacts again for evolution and I don't really know if Thunderbird can understand Evelution's vCards!

I think this is a good project for me and for the community. If you have other better ideas, please tell me.:guitar:

lykwydchykyn
May 9th, 2009, 11:34 PM