PDA

View Full Version : What do YOU do?

scottuss
May 9th, 2009, 04:04 PM
Hi everyone!

I've just finished my degree in Computing and am now looking for jobs in Linux / Open Source (I'd take pretty much anything right now!)

So I'm trawling through tonnes of job websites and see LOADS of listings for Windows / Microsoft / Other proprietary technology jobs. But only a few Linux ones (and they're mostly Perl or PHP development, which I don't really have a massive interest in)

So I was wondering, what do you all do? I guess some of you must work in Linux or Open Source positions?

Thanks in advance! :)

kahunamahalo
May 9th, 2009, 04:13 PM
AutoCAD user

stwschool
May 9th, 2009, 04:39 PM
I'm an IT teacher, started using Linux about 8 months ago now I think, and now have a lovely server running at the school on which I've built various web services to handle school reports, central secure file storage with version history, and a whole bunch of other stuff, as well as putting the staffroom computers on linux. I've just finished turning our computer lab to a dual-boot environment and damn it was so much easier setting up lots of computers on Linux than on Windows!

Before this I was a PHP programmer, but while the servers I uploaded sites to were always Linux (hence my awareness of it) I always worked in Windows. Mind, back then Linux was a bitch to use! If only I'd had Ubuntu back then!

scottuss
May 9th, 2009, 04:40 PM
I'm an IT teacher, started using Linux about 8 months ago now I think, and now have a lovely server running at the school on which I've built various web services to handle school reports, central secure file storage with version history, and a whole bunch of other stuff, as well as putting the staffroom computers on linux. I've just finished turning our computer lab to a dual-boot environment and damn it was so much easier setting up lots of computers on Linux than on Windows!