PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] pppoeconf broke network



Morphal
May 9th, 2009, 09:34 AM
Installed fresh Jaunty on Samsung R25, everything worked great. Got a wifi connections working to different networks. But when i had to connect to internet via wifi to DSL-modem and pppoe, i used pppoeconf utility to set up a connection. I was set up without problems, found wifi and all steps were done without problems. and internet worked pretty well. but after reboot NEtwork manager stopped detecting any networks, after turning wifi module on nothing happens at all. the same history after i set it up to ethernet connection. Now network manager doesn't react on plugging ethernet cable in.

superprash2003
May 9th, 2009, 06:04 PM
post output of sudo iwlist scanning from the terminal

Morphal
May 9th, 2009, 07:50 PM
alex@alex-laptop:~$ sudo iwlist scanning
lo Interface doesn't support scanning.
eth0 Interface doesn't support scanning.
wmaster0 Interface doesn't support scanning.
wlan0 Interface doesn't support scanning : Network is down
vboxnet0 Interface doesn't support scanning.
pan0 Interface doesn't support scanning.

then i did:
alex@alex-laptop:~$ sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
alex@alex-laptop:~$ sudo iwlist scanning
lo Interface doesn't support scanning.
eth0 Interface doesn't support scanning.
wmaster0 Interface doesn't support scanning.
wlan0 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 00:21:91:CE:20:F5
ESSID:"HomeWLAN"
Mode:Master
Channel:11
Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
Quality=55/100 Signal level:-75 dBm Noise level=-127 dBm
Encryption key:on
IE: Unknown: 0008486F6D65574C414E
IE: Unknown: 010882848B962430486C
IE: Unknown: 03010B
IE: Unknown: 2A0100
IE: Unknown: 2F0100
IE: Unknown: 32040C121860
IE: Unknown: DD090010180200F0000000
IE: WPA Version 1
Group Cipher : TKIP
Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
Extra:tsf=00000017f6b46183
Extra: Last beacon: 912ms ago
vboxnet0 Interface doesn't support scanning.
pan0 Interface doesn't support scanning.

and:

alex@alex-laptop:~$ sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart
* Reconfiguring network interfaces... /usr/bin/poff: No pppd is running. None stopped.
Plugin rp-pppoe.so loaded.
RP-PPPoE plugin version 3.8p compiled against pppd 2.4.5
* if-up.d/mountnfs[dsl-provider]: waiting for interface wlan0 before doing NFS mounts
* if-up.d/mountnfs[dsl-provider]: waiting for interface eth0 before doing NFS mounts
* if-up.d/mountnfs[wlan0]: waiting for interface eth0 before doing NFS mounts

superprash2003
May 10th, 2009, 05:27 AM
well the wireless seems to be OK, as it is able to view "HOMEWLAN" .. post output of iwconfig and ifconfig . Dont you see the wifi network listed when you click on the networking icon on the top right bar??

Morphal
May 10th, 2009, 08:43 AM
alex@alex-laptop:~$ iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.
eth0 no wireless extensions.
wmaster0 no wireless extensions.
wlan0 IEEE 802.11abg ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Tx-Power=15 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr=2352 B
Power Management:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

vboxnet0 no wireless extensions.
pan0 no wireless extensions.

alex@alex-laptop:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:77:3a:40:2d
inet6 addr: fe80::213:77ff:fe3a:402d/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:118 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:28 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:12291 (12.2 KB) TX bytes:1812 (1.8 KB)
Interrupt:22 Base address:0x4000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:240 (240.0 B) TX bytes:240 (240.0 B)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1b:77:36:21:44
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-1B-77-36-21-44-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


That is the problem. Everything worked pretty well until pppoeconf :) Now when i click the networking icon both wired and wireless networks are "device not managed". Looks like pppoeconf broke something in network manager options..

superprash2003
May 11th, 2009, 06:53 AM
check this for your device unmanaged error http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1028541

Morphal
May 11th, 2009, 09:31 AM
Thanks a lot!
It turned out that pppoeconf disabled network manager (donno why?)


Code:
sudo vi /etc/NetworkManager/nm-system-settings.conf

Change "managed=false" to "managed=true"

Code:
sudo killall nm-system-settings

It helped.

lynx93
August 10th, 2009, 08:34 AM
That didn't work for me:(
I wrote that also in with vi nothing happened just a few blue waves came, when I inserted nano on the place of vi I got this:

What shall I do now?

frederik.nnaji
April 18th, 2010, 02:27 PM
has this issue actually been resolved?
i still see no GTK+ wizard on top of Network Manager 0.8 today.
i also hear reports that pppoeconf still breaks NM's control aka management.. which was mean to be the sole purpose of Network "Manager".

any news there?

tacoee
May 21st, 2010, 04:17 PM
maybe this is helpful. good luck.
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1487646&highlight=rp-pppoe