PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Multiple desktops on same machine

nosmadar
May 8th, 2009, 03:31 AM
I'm relatively new to the Ubuntu world and I got started with Kubuntu actually, but now that I've got the wireless working, I'd like to evaluate all 3 desktops (Xbuntu, Unbuntu and Kubuntu ) by installing the same build (Intrepid) of all 3 on one machine.

1) Is there a preferred order that makes this work better?

HyRax
May 8th, 2009, 03:35 AM
Simply go into Synaptic or the terminal and install the following packages:

ubuntu-desktop for the GNOME environment
xubuntu-desktop for the XFCE environment
kubuntu-desktop for the KDE environment

Or install all three.

When you login, you simply choose which environment you want for this session.

xebian
May 8th, 2009, 03:38 AM
Or you can have 3 separate install exclusively for gnome, kde, xfce in 3 separate partitions in the same machine.

HyRax
May 8th, 2009, 03:47 AM
Or you can have 3 separate install exclusively for gnome, kde, xfce in 3 separate partitions in the same machine.

...but... why?

Kareeser
May 8th, 2009, 03:48 AM
Why?

In my experience, KDE and GNOME don't play well together. Qt applications default to KDE settings, even when running in GNOME, VLC being the prime example.

I'm too scared to try GNOME and XFCE :)

HyRax
May 8th, 2009, 03:55 AM
Why?

In my experience, KDE and GNOME don't play well together. Qt applications default to KDE settings, even when running in GNOME, VLC being the prime example.

I'm too scared to try GNOME and XFCE :)

Hehehe... well in that case, I'd create three separate test users each utilising one of the three environments. Creating three separate partitions is over the top for such testing.

nosmadar
May 14th, 2009, 02:41 AM
...but... why?

Because I really don't know which desk top I want to use on a permanent basis. I've started with Kubuntu, which looks great but I hate Adept - it keeps getting dumber and harder to use with each version of KDE IMHO.