PDA

View Full Version : C# / GTK Question

PaulM1985
May 7th, 2009, 10:43 PM
Hi

I have started to mess around with C# and GTK in Monodevelop. I come from a Java background and I am used to adding action listeners to buttons and then implementing inner classes to deal with button clicks.

How do I add a similar thing to a button using C# and GTK? I have found gtk_button_clicked(GTKButton *button) in the GTK documentation, but I am not sure if I am supposed to implement this method or if it already exists, and if I do have to implement it, where do I do it?

I am very new to C# so sorry if I have missed something really obvious.

Paul

cabalas
May 8th, 2009, 12:38 AM
To handle an event in C# you need to add a new event handler to the event. An event handler takes a function as a parameter which is what is called when the even is triggered. The code for it looks like this.

button1.Clicked += new EventHandler(onButtonClicked);

Generally you will of declared the function onButtonClicked somewhere else in your class.

PaulM1985
May 8th, 2009, 07:39 AM
Hi

I tried:

using System;
using Gtk;

public partial class MainWindow: Gtk.Window
{
public MainWindow (): base (Gtk.WindowType.Toplevel)
{
Build ();
button1.Clicked += new EventHandler(ButtonClick());
}

protected void OnDeleteEvent (object sender, DeleteEventArgs a)
{
Application.Quit ();
a.RetVal = true;
}

public void ButtonClick()
{
Console.Write("Button Clicked \n");
}
}

But I get the error: Method name expected, on the button1.Clicked line.

The actual adding of the button has been done by the GUI Builder.

Paul

sakabato
May 8th, 2009, 09:04 AM
There should be no paranthesis there.

button1.Clicked += new EventHandler(ButtonClick);

Notice there is no paranthesis after ButtonClick

Also the following is correct as well:

button1.Clicked += new ButtonClick;

Finally your event handler should be as below :

public void ButtonClick(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
Console.Write("Button Clicked \n");
}