PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Upgrade to 9.04 ran afoul of moodle

cposubs
May 7th, 2009, 06:29 PM
I am new to Linux and recently installed Ubuntu in a dual-boot configuration on my desktop. My existing OS was Windows XP, SP3. I was enjoying the use of my "new system". :guitar: After a while, I received a notification on screen (I was running Linux at the time) that 9.04 was available for downloading. I agreed and started the download/installation.

Everything went fine until the system encountered the Moodle program that I installed for "tinkering with" later on. At this point, the system predicted installation complete in 2 minutes and asked for my FQDN. Since I am not running Ubuntu as a server, I attempted to bypass this information... Bad choice.

Now, Ubuntu will not fully boot. I get to a white screen and the OS will not finish loading. The HD seek indicator LED becomes inactive. [-o<

Do I need to run an ISO image that I have of 9.04 to remove Moodle? Would it be better to just reinstall 9.04 from the image? Will that impact my Windows partition?What would you recommend? :confused:

Thanks ahead of time...

Bruce
(aka CPOsubs)

Kareeser
May 7th, 2009, 06:36 PM
Moodle server?

What is the output of the command "hostname"?

(I'm going to fully admit I'm grasping at straws here...)

cposubs
May 8th, 2009, 04:52 AM
Don't remember and my Linux is "Tango Uniform."

HyRax
May 8th, 2009, 04:59 AM
Everything went fine until the system encountered the Moodle program that I installed for "tinkering with" later on. At this point, the system predicted installation complete in 2 minutes and asked for my FQDN. Since I am not running Ubuntu as a server, I attempted to bypass this information... Bad choice.

By default, any standalone workstation's FQDN is machinename.local so if you called your PC "fred", it's FQDN would be fred.local ok?