PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Absolute newbie: dual boot hal.dll corrupt error

tickling
May 7th, 2009, 11:46 AM
Hello

I tried to install 9.04 side by side with my windows XP. I have two hard disks on my system and I intended that drive C (single xp boot partition) would be resized and ubuntu would get whatever it needs.
During installation I changed my mind as I was worried that data would be lost, I cancelled the installation, read some stuff over the net and then reinstalled 9.04.
Installation went fine. After that, I booted XP. It went fine, XP partition resized properly. So I went on to boot ubuntu from the boot menu and got

hal.dll corrut or missing

error message.

Here is my boot.ini:

[boot loader]
timeout=3
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn
C:\wubildr.mbr = "Ubuntu"

Now XP works fine, it's just that my new shiny ubuntu is somehow lost. Any idea ?

-- Thanks !

dandnsmith
May 7th, 2009, 11:56 AM
Are you sure XP is working?
"hal.dll corrut or missing"
is usually reported as XP fails to boot properly - the hal.dll is 'hardware abstraction layer' and usually means you have to recover it from the installation CD.

Are you changing the HDD you boot from?

tickling
May 7th, 2009, 12:17 PM
My XP is working fine . I know hal has to do with windows. However I am getting this message if I choose "ubuntu" from the boot menu. XP is fine.
I also checked that XP recognizes the new smaller partition properly and ran checkdisk on that and it went fine.

hall.dll is under C:\winnt\system32 as always and is probably working properly for XP... I am confused:confused:

should I just try reinstalling ubuntu ? I am just afraid that something in my system confuses the installer and it just might challenge my backup practices ...

Thanks

tickling
May 7th, 2009, 03:27 PM
Well I tried this: