PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need HELP desperately.

sham08
May 6th, 2009, 04:37 PM
Hello.I'm a newbie in the forum and hoping also in future to the Ubuntu.Its have been 5 days till now,and I am still stuck in the installation process of Ubuntu 9.04.I've downloaded the iso image from Ubuntu. com and successfully burned it using Infra Recorder.All goes well,until I inserted the CD into my 'HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH20NS10 ATA Device' (as the sole CD/DVD driver on my PC)and expected the installation will go smooth and simple (as all other previous users mentioned).Unfortunately it didn't goes well.Nothing happened,instead the screen brought me back to 'Vista'(the OS that I hoped to get rid off completely from my PC).I made some 'googling' and found out that I have to set the BIOS sequence of the drive.With a little/nil knowledge on what I was about to do, I opened the BIOS (Phoenix-AwardBIOS V6.00PG) and found out the default setting were already the CD-ROM.I wonder why on the earth the CD (Ubuntu 9.04) that I've installed didn't boot on the start.I am sure the CD that I've burned and inserted in the drive isn't the cause of the problem.I'm hoping anyone out there could help me on the matter.Till this moment the enthusiasm and determination are still high (to be a part of Ubuntu users),and I'm really hoping at the end of the day I'm in front of my desktop using Ubuntu as the OS.Thanks in advance for any possible help.

AlanR8
May 6th, 2009, 04:57 PM
Sorry to hear of your issues.

Are you sure the boot sequence is correct in the machine's bios? Providing the CD/DVD is listed as the first boot device all should be fine.

However as a suggestion, when the machines boots, the first black screens, before it gets to the Windows screens, does it give an option to "Press any key to boot from CD ROM"?

Bartender
May 6th, 2009, 05:56 PM