PDA

View Full Version : Making happy converts...

lordyosch
May 5th, 2009, 08:38 PM
I'm a school science teacher by day (masked vigilante/secret agent by night) and after a discussion with a student who was having problems with trojans or viruses on his XP laptop I loaned (turned out, gave...) an Intrepid desktop CD to him to try out.

He quite liked it, but couldn't get some of the web-based Java games to work so he was a bit downhearted about it. Anyhoo, his PC died on him so he got a new one bought for him. I was pleased and surprised when he said he got it with Ubuntu on instead of Windows!

He's now happily 'one of us' and he's even spreading the word to other students. I'm really pleased with this result, the kids are normally closed off to new ideas like this!

Jay

LowSky
May 5th, 2009, 08:54 PM
yeah um i dont know about closed off... When I was in school linux was just getting ready for the desktop (circa 1999). Back then our tech teacher got us into it, and it became a hobby for quite a few.

Personally I dont try to make converts. With my friends it always ends up with someone asking to borrow my PC to look something up. Then they realize I dont use Windows, they need a quick tutoring on how to get onto the internet, and usually by then its fine. Once they know where the Firefox icon is they are good to go. out of all my friend s only one other uses Linux as his only OS, but that was because he needed a cheap PC and I sold him my old one. He rather have Windows but he got by on Ubuntu. Sad but true.

gtr32
May 5th, 2009, 08:55 PM
My wife's co-worker has brought me her computers a few times in the past to be fixed. I installed a virus scanner the first time but seems like their laptop got infected despite of that. This time it was bad, cleaning was impossible without destroying the OS. Against my wife's wishes, instead of recovering XP, I backed up the files and installed 8.10 on it. Worked like a charm.