PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Grub Error

Peter-1992
May 5th, 2009, 08:19 PM
HI all,

For some months I've been running a dual boot on my laptop with regularly-updated Ubuntu and Vista Home Premium. I recently lent my latop to a friend so he could familiarise himself with ubuntu before deciding whether or not he wanted to install it for himself, being very much computer-illiterate.

After getting my laptop back, I tried to boot and received Gurb Error 17 error message. I asked what he'd been doing and he's reformatted my linux hardrive partition, from windows, without restoring/resetting the mbr. As a result, I cannot now boot into either windows or linux as the partition its trying to boot into no longer exists.

WHilst I am still a relative novice on ubuntu (a basic grasp of terminal commands etc) please reply as if talking to an absolute beginner for fear of further damage . . .

So, is there any way to either reset the mbr to enable grub to work and boot into vista, or to re-install windows boot manager and bypass Grub completely? Bear in mind, i cannot boot into vista, so all changes will be run from a live Ubuntu 7.10 CD.

Thanks in advance for any advice and help given,

Pete

Mark Phelps
May 6th, 2009, 02:31 AM
After getting my laptop back, I tried to boot and received Gurb Error 17 error message. I asked what he'd been doing and he's reformatted my linux hardrive partition, from windows, without restoring/resetting the mbr. As a result, I cannot now boot into either windows or linux as the partition its trying to boot into no longer exists.

WHilst I am still a relative novice on ubuntu (a basic grasp of terminal commands etc) please reply as if talking to an absolute beginner for fear of further damage . . .