PDA

View Full Version : Cross-platform programming

Stavro
May 5th, 2009, 02:52 AM
Hi All,

I’m quite new to Ubuntu but am a hobby developer so am quite confident with computers. I’m very interested in creating a cross-platform application that will utilise standard window widgets and OpenGL. Is this easily achieved? I would like pointers as to what would be the best language and IDE for development on Ubuntu.

Thank you in advance.

myrtle1908
May 5th, 2009, 08:48 AM
IMO your best bet for ease of portability is Java. Couple this with the NetBeans IDE and the OpenGL pack and you're away.

Java bindings for OpenGL (JOGL) - https://jogl.dev.java.net/

NetBeans - http://www.netbeans.org/downloads/

NetBeans Pack for OpenGL Java Development - https://netbeans-opengl-pack.dev.java.net/

Zugzwang
May 5th, 2009, 09:14 AM
There are multiple possibilities to do so. The last poster mentioned Java, which will however not utilise the "standard" widgets (but instead paint its own - you can however choose how they look like). But that shouldn't be a problem. It has very good IDE support (personally I only know Netbeans that can be of enormous help).

You can also program in C and/or C++, for which you have a couple of alternative frameworks you can use, for example Gtk, WxWidgets and QT. Personally I would suggest one of the latter two (need C++), but that's really just personal preference. Often beginners and even people that can program at intermediate levels in other languages are advised against C++ as it has some traps included.

Scripting languages might be interesting for you as well as most of them are also cross-platform, for example Python might be an option. It is also often reported as good for beginners as the learning curve is quite good. People who know other languages can dive into it very quick.

Stavro
May 9th, 2009, 04:57 PM