PDA

View Full Version : what are the best ways to get involved in the ubuntu community?

nathang1392
May 4th, 2009, 08:56 PM
hi,

i have been using ubuntu for about 2 months and i really like the forums. i was just wondering what are some ways that you can get involved?

23meg
May 4th, 2009, 09:00 PM
It depends largely on your skills and interests. http://www.ubuntu.com/community/participate and https://wiki.ubuntu.com/ContributeToUbuntu may give you some ideas.

XubuRoxMySox
May 4th, 2009, 10:32 PM
These forums are the best way! I tried to join the Beginners' Team but couldn't. I jumped through all the hoops they told me to (creating a Wiki and Launchpad account and stuff), and the next thing was to join them in their IRC chatroom. But you have to "register a nickname" in order to participate, and several attempts at it failed. But I was able to converse with others in the Beginners' Team chatroom, so I asked for help and did exactly everything they instructed. For nearly an hour and a half. No luck. But it was very entertaining for all the folks in there watching the newbie struggle.

I tried again two days later for about 30 minutes and got the same result, again much to the delight of the Beginners' Team members who got another 30 minutes of entertainment watching the newbie struggle with something that's supposed to be so simple.

I finally posted a goodbye in my "Introductions" thread in their forum. "I'll just go over to the Dark Side," I wrote. "It's the quick and easy path anyway, right?"

I dunno what possessed me to look in something called "Beginners' Team" to help me out as a beginner.