PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Upgraded to 9.04 on laptop now video problems

Steve Meynell
May 4th, 2009, 05:54 PM
Hi All, I don't know why I don't learn from the past but once again my upgrades have gone for a crap.

I was on the LST version and I decided that a lot of the programs that I was using had newer versions that were not in the APT updates so I thought, hey everything is going far to well... lets upgrade.

So I upgraded through 8.10 and then on to 9.04. Now my system will not boot completely. It gets through the splash screen but then gets all pixilated and then just freezes to which I have to do a hard reset. I can get to the recovery boot. I have tried all of the options including xfix the video, check for broken packages and nothing helps.

I found some help here with numerous suggestions to which they either don't work or I haven't implemented them correctly.( I am a bit new to having to manually edit files and such, I am getting much better though with each upgrade. )

I do believe this to be a video driver issue but in lies my issue. I have this installed on an Averatec 6100 Laptop. It has an integrated video card which is a ATI Radeon 9600 card. The driver at ATI is the 9.3 version which I have read here is not supported by 9.04. I cannot seem to find the 9.4 version. But is also seems that I need a GUI to install it from what the docs look like anyway. So changing video cards is also out of the question.

I would be willing to go back to 8.10 if that will work better but I don't know how to go backwards without loosing everything and I really don't want to loose everything if I don't have to (That is just too much like Windows for me.) :)

Oh yeah and the other dough-headed thing I didn't learn from before was, no backup... I know... I'm such an IDIOT!!

Please any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You,
Steve

Topsiho
May 6th, 2009, 03:57 PM
We are all idiots time and time again. Hope this helps :)