PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Advice on upgrading/installing to Jaunty; /home on separate partition

cyberfin
May 4th, 2009, 04:01 PM
Hi folks,

I would just like some advice as I'm going to do something I've never done before.

My /home is on a separate partition because I followed everyones advice when I installed Intrepid. It made sense. My HD looks like this:

http://lh4.ggpht.com/_S2vmic2YFXc/Sf8C0DnExTI/AAAAAAAAAY0/cm7MSBhCDgk/ScreenshotGParted.png

Now, I'm looking to make the jump to Jaunty 64 bit, but I don't like the idea of upgrading directly mainly because I've configured and messed around with quite a few things and settings and would like a more or less clean start.

I've looked for tips on how to do this but I'm unable to find a guide to lean on to do it while having /home on a separate partition.

Can anyone give me an explanation of what to do or a quick guide? (or point me to one)

Cheers.

tgyorgyi
May 4th, 2009, 07:15 PM
Do you mean that you want to leave the /home partition untouched when you do the clean install, or do you want to wipe the whole hard drive and have a new /home as well?

cyberfin
May 4th, 2009, 07:42 PM
Thanks for the reply.

Yes, I would like to leave the /home partition untouched as it is my understanding that there are many perks to having /home on a separate partition (simplicity of a fresh install being one of them).

If it was a simple wipe everything and install I'd be more than capable of doing it (I count 7 full ubuntu installs/reinstalls so far).

What I'm looking for is for pointers on what I should be doing (or not doing) when installing Jaunty from scratch and how I would either during the install process or after, assign the /home partition as ... well, the home partition :); so I don't loose all my info and keep some configs.

Thanks for any input.

mikezila
May 4th, 2009, 08:27 PM