PDA

View Full Version : Help developing strategy for home network

davidmigl
May 3rd, 2009, 10:21 AM
I need your input in order to develop an overall strategy/gameplan for implementing a home network. I need your recommendations on both hardware and software.

Usage scenario is 2-3 computers; web browsing, documents, and photos/photo editing. The existing "infrastructure" is two aging PCs (4-5+ yrs old) running Windows XP connected through a dsl modem/router combo.

I would like to replace this with a more robust "business class solution." By that I mean a server to centralize photos, music, and documents, share a printer, and perform backups of all the computers, with business class workstations. I need this to be remotely administrable (I am a college student/designated family IT nerd).

For hardware, I am thinking about buying used Dell business-class hardware. Specifically, a power edge tower server (server) and optiplex/vostro (for the workstations). However, I am open to recommendations for whatever will get me the most Ubuntu compatibility.

Thanks for your help!!
David

gn2
May 3rd, 2009, 10:37 AM
Sounds a bit unecessary when all you might need is to buy a NAS for central storage.

I have a Linksys NSLU2 and it's great.

mr.propre
May 3rd, 2009, 11:12 AM
Sounds fun, but a little bit overkill if you ask me.
The hardware is to expensive for just a few PC's and the upkeep in energy is High.

Trust me on this, you are better of with 'basic' consumer/geek hardware than with HBA controllers of €250/p (for example). A small low-energy micro-atx with 2 lan card, an unmanaged switch and a NAS will do the trick as long as you don't need a media server.

The atx can handle as firewall, DHCP, backup, cronjobs, bittorent ...

RandomJoe
May 3rd, 2009, 02:07 PM