PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Nvidia graphics driver problem...

NayC
May 2nd, 2009, 07:36 PM
Hi,

I just installed ubuntu "within windows" which also allows me to boot either Vista or Ubuntu (9.04).

Installing is fine, but then when I get into ubuntu and install the recommended NVidia drivers, on reboot it goes into a command line prompt. After a little search apparently I should be able to get back to the GUI using "startx" but that returns the error "no screens available"?

I have an 8800GTX and not entirely sure if the recommended driver (is it 173, or something?) actually supports my gpu. Is there a way to remedy this new change from the command line or just get into the GUI again? Or I could re-reinstall again! either way, if i get back into the GUI, how should I go about an update?

Sorry, Linux novice here!

Any help would be very appriciated, Cheers, Nay.

RedSingularity
May 2nd, 2009, 07:38 PM
The current nvidia driver is 180 now. Try that one and see if it supports your card.

NayC
May 2nd, 2009, 07:42 PM
Oh, sorry, that is the one that ubuntu installed. I remeber now. 173 is the one found in the add/remove programs! I looked through the 173 compatibile list and it supports almost every "8800" card, but mine didn't appear to be in the list after a pretty hard look. Could this be why and if so would it be the same for the 180 release?

Could someone please check in their add/remove programs if the driver in that list supports the "8800GTX"?

Cheers.

RedSingularity
May 2nd, 2009, 07:46 PM
It says it does.......did you try downloading the driver directly from Nvidia and installing it?

NayC
May 2nd, 2009, 07:55 PM