PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Update Manager corrupts itself after running in 9.04

biogrin
May 2nd, 2009, 09:22 AM
Hi folks,

I am new to Ubuntu/Linux, been around with Windows mostly before.
I set 9.04 a week ago or so and was using it pretty well, but it
had some problems with packages, so i decided to reinstall it this weekend.

The problem i encountered is that after fresh installation of Jaunty 9.04(x86 version), i need to run Update Manager before i can install any new packages. Update Manager fails during the update process and boom, crash, system is corrupted beyond repair(to my level of linux-skill at least). This is how Update Manager looks like, Synaptic does not open a window at all, Add/Remove says Failed and quits too.

http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/5341/44762995.png

What i tried:

Reinstalling with ext3 and ext4, same results after i run the update manager

sudo apt-get install synaptic
sudo apt-get autoremove synaptic
(curses with E:unmet dependencies, and to run apt-get -f install)

sudo apt-get -f install
(says gksu exited with Error 2)

sudo aptitude dist-upgrade
sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

sudo rm /var/cache/apt/*.bin

Any ideas on how to proceed with Ubuntu-usage? It seems to hate my system (couldn't install 8.10 at all, it threw a weird Erro5 during install process which isn't fixed still if to look at forums).

EDIT:
attached some .txt files with output from attempts to fix =)

Partyboi2
May 2nd, 2009, 10:42 AM
Hi, what is the output to

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade

biogrin
May 2nd, 2009, 11:16 AM
Hey,

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade

work ok, clean ouput from update and upgrade executes without problem, i attached some .txt outputs to first post with details on dependencies errors

Partyboi2
May 2nd, 2009, 01:17 PM
Why are you trying to remove Synaptic? From what i have seen from the outputs so far there is no need to at this stage.