PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Remote Desktop Problem

Face_Man
May 2nd, 2009, 09:14 AM
Hello All,

I'm new to Linux OS's and this is my first week. i install ubuntu 9.04 server and install ubuntu-desktop. So far so good, I was able to remote desktop the box from Windows OS using VNC. However, each time i reboot the box i have to go to box and login and after that i can remote desktop the box. is there anyway i could remote desktop the but without having to login manually.

Any help would be much appreciated.

praveenmarkandu
May 2nd, 2009, 09:34 AM
Hello All,

I'm new to Linux OS's and this is my first week. i install ubuntu 9.04 server and install ubuntu-desktop. So far so good, I was able to remote desktop the box from Windows OS using VNC. However, each time i reboot the box i have to go to box and login and after that i can remote desktop the box. is there anyway i could remote desktop the but without having to login manually.

Any help would be much appreciated.

you can try this
http://jakeyoon.com/2008/11/19/enable-vino-vnc-server-for-login-manager-gdm-in-ubuntu/

Face_Man
May 2nd, 2009, 07:27 PM
well, since i did what is in article i cannot remote desktop the box at all.

cariboo
May 2nd, 2009, 09:37 PM
If your server isn't outward facing, why not just set autologin? Go to System-->Administration-->Login Window-->Security-->Enable Automatic Login.

Face_Man
May 3rd, 2009, 04:00 AM
I was able some how to connect to the login screen x11vnc. However, after i enter my username and password i get this error

caught XIO error:
02/05/2009 19:37:49 deleted 36 tile_row polling images.

any idea

HermanAB
May 3rd, 2009, 04:30 AM
Howdy,

VNC is not a good choice for managing a server. You should install ssh-server from synaptic, then connect to it from Windows using Xming (run it first!) and PuTTY.