PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] install kubuntu and mint single disk

stolatos
May 2nd, 2009, 04:16 AM
hi!

i'm a newbie in linux, but i have use ubuntu awhile, and now i want on a new disk to install kubuntu and mint but i dont know nothing about partition if anyone can point me thru the whole installation of kubuntu or mint (don't know which is better to install first), how should i partition the disk and when, and that grub can see both. in other words the whole process starting from the first distro.

and if that procedure can apply when installing 3 or more distros.

i would apreciate any help you all could give me.

tommcd
May 2nd, 2009, 06:27 AM
So this is a new hard drive with nothing on it? Is that correct?

You will have to use manual partitioning to set this up the way you want. First install Kubuntu (it really doesn't matter which you install first though). When you get to the partitioning part choose manual partitioning and create these partitions:
1 primary for Kubuntu's root (10-15GB if you have a lot of space, can be less if you don't)
1 primary for swap
1 primary for Min't root (10-15GB)
1 logical for a /data partition (the rest of the drive)

The data partition will be for all your data. This will keep Kubuntu's and Mint's home directories separate so all the hidden config files in the home directories don't conflict with each other. Both Kubuntu and Mint can share the /data partition.

Install Kubuntu's grub to the MBR. Install Mint's grub to the Mint root partition. Then add this to Kubuntu's grub to boot Mint:

title Mint
configfile (hdX,Y)/boot/grub/menu.lst
savedefault

Replace (hdX,Y) with whatever partition Mint is on. It will probably be /dev/sda3 if you partition like I said, which is (hd0,2) in grub.