View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem of installing ubuntu 9.04 live cd in Acer Aspire 4920 laptop.

May 1st, 2009, 06:10 PM
I am an absolute beginner in Linux world. I've tried Ubuntu 8.10 live cd (that I've recieved from Ubuntu via postal mail) in my laptop, Acer Aspire 4920 (http://www.shopacer.co.uk/scp/Acer_Aspire_Laptops/Acer_Aspire_4920_Series.html). This laptop is pre-installed with Windows Vista. Every time I wanted to run the live cd, after the startup screen it shows the following message:

BusyBox v1.1.3 (Debian 1:1.1.3-3ubuntu3) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

/bin/sh: can't access tty; job control turned off

To be frankly I don't know what these lines mean. I've tried the same CD with another Dell laptop and it worked fine there.

Is it a problem with my laptop only? How can I solve this?

Thank you!!

May 1st, 2009, 08:51 PM
Is a text-mode install offered on your live CD?

If so, are you using it?

May 2nd, 2009, 05:35 AM
Thanks for the reply. I am not sure what do you mean by "text-mode". Sorry for that, I am totally new in Linux arena. I am not familiar with Linux at all.

I've boot my laptop from the live CD, a list of options has been shown. I selected the first one (install or run ubuntu from the live CD). Then a progress bar has been displayed (just like starting of Windows XP). Then all of a sudden the above message has been displayed and no keys were functioning.

I've tried the same CD in other laptops and desktops and it worked fine there except mine ACER. I am not sure what to do!

May 2nd, 2009, 12:22 PM
You'll have the option of an alternate install. Try that.

May 2nd, 2009, 02:15 PM
Are you considering installing Ubuntu side-by-side with Vista or are you going to wipe it out and have Ubuntu as your only operating system?

If you want dual-boot then you can go to Windows, run the LiveCD and select the option Install inside Windows.