PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] SIS662 Mirage Absolute Beginner

cbanakis
May 1st, 2009, 11:18 AM
I have been struggleing for about a year now trying to solve this problem.

I'm trying to get Ubuntu up and running on a Shuttle XPC SS30G2.

I would like to switch all my computers over to Linux, but if I cant solve a problem as simple as this, I fear I may only be qualified to deal with MS Windows and their BS.

The problem I am facing is with the onboard SIS Mirage 1 graphics card.

I have spent years building windows based systems, and thought I knew quite abit about computers. But now that I'm attempting to make the switch to Linux, I feel like a complete moron.

My issue is that I have several distorted vertical lines going accross my screen.

I have spent hours upon hours viewing forums relating to this exact same issue.

they all seem to have solutions, but being the moron that I am, these solutions mean nothing to me.

As it stands, I know how to "install" Ubuntu...

thats about as far as my knowlege goes.

Can someone please help.

Thanks

coffeeaddict22
May 1st, 2009, 12:40 PM
Dunno. If you can keep a windows PC going for more than a few months without reinstalling you may be smarter than us all...

Not sure what you've done or not, so I'd start basic. Can you get a picture without the lines ever? During booting up? What happens if you attach a second monitor? PC or laptop? Primary monitor, or a fancy setup?

Open a terminal (Applications/Accessories/Terminal), type in
lspci -v |grep VGA -A10
That should give you some more detailed info about your display.

y_garti
May 1st, 2009, 01:20 PM
like everything good in life if you want to Succeed you need to study there are plenty of ways to learn Linux

there is a good book for beginners here http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/index_main.html
and if you don't mind pay there is a good video tutorials from cbt nuggets or test out